Home > Random > Sunday Lake Maggiore Cycling Tour

Sunday Lake Maggiore Cycling Tour

I have recently decided, with my new workout plan, that by the end of the summer I want to be able to go round lake Maggiore once with my bike.

I’ve been cycling since I was small when my dad first bought me my very own racing bicycle.

This year i’ve been out quite a few times already doing 30-40 km cycling sessions. Usually i manage quite easily without feeling wrecked at the end, so I have decided to set a goal for myself.

This goal is going round the whole of lake Maggiore before the end of summer.

The lake’s perimeter is 160Km long. There’s a ferry that goes from point A to point B on the map below (it’s also the ferry I take every day to get to work).

This sunday, I decided to take on half the “Tour” to see if I can cope with the whole deal.

I went from Laveno ( point A) to Intra (point B) for a total of 70.1Km in 2hours 50 minutes.

It was a great cycle, and a great achievement (xbox360style) at the end when I managed to get there.

The last 5km were the worse. I probably looked like i was a zombie on a racing bicycle… must have been funny!

So in the end I had loads of fun, stopping at random bars along the way asking to refill my water bottle with tap water, but to be honest, 70km is quite a lot and I was really tired at the end. Next up is the northern half, which is about 90km, and if I manage that I think i’ll be content with what I have achieved.

I really do not think i can handle 160km in one session like i intended when I first thought of this. I’d be happy with completing the “tour” in two separate sessions like i’m doing now.

What a workout!

image003

o/

  1. marco moderato
    July 7, 2009 at 21:00

    altro che perdere peso, 90 km è quasi tortura… io invece parto x trekking una settimana prima di andare a scavare..modi diversi di farsi del male..

  2. Tremeur Denigot
    July 8, 2009 at 09:47

    Et pour t’asseoir maintenant, tu fais comment ?😉

  3. July 8, 2009 at 16:21

    Whoa Riqz, that’s a long trip! You’re really getting in great shape, aren’t you🙂

  4. Paz
    July 15, 2009 at 10:22

    For me 160km are a lot even by car.
    With my bike (my Black Bear Lady) I don’t think I can handle more then 15km a day.

    P.S.: I use Lady bikes so that I can still feel my balls after the ride. How do you do with racing bikes?

    Paz

    • riqz
      July 15, 2009 at 18:18

      I don’t think i’ll manage 160km… I’m gonna stick to my max 70km for now. With racing bikes i guess it’s all about the clothes you wear. Good cycling shorts and a good seat should do the trick.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

