Home > Random > New Job Offer

New Job Offer

It was friday, 4pm, and I was still at work. The office phone rang, and the man on the phone tells me he is the human resources director in Veneto Banca Holding. He tells me he wants to meet up with me for a chat as soon as possible!!

The blog followers already know that my contract ends on the 31st of July, so this was all great news for me.

On the plus side, I was going to go to Friuli anyway this weekend, so I just took monday off to go to this interview.

Upon reaching Veneto Banca Holding, I was pretty impressed by the size of the whole building:

image0031

There’s even a stone statue in the entrance hall haha!

I must say that I was quite impressed.

They are offering me a job but I really don’t know for sure what i’ll be doing exactly at the moment. It’s something quite specific involving how all the small banks that are part of the Veneto Banca Holding group work and being given projects, working on spreadsheets, creating budgets… it all sounds interesting and quite hard.

I haven’t signed anything official yet, but from what they told me in the interview, including (when would you like to start, because we’d like you to start right away), I think it’s pretty obvious. We decided it would be best for me to start on the 17th of August, which will give me some time to move my stuff and find an appartment.

All in all, I can’t wait to start my new job in this huge building, and also looking forward to finding my own new place to stay nearby.

So I guess this is where my career starts to lift off. Pretty important step in my life i believe.

Job aside, I really went to Friuli for another reason. It was Roberto’s (a longtime family friend of our’s) 60th birthday, and he had a big party in this beautiful Villa/restaurant. I got to see Luca (his son and my friend since i was 2 years old. Visit his italian Blog: http://www.ipernova.it ), Matteo (his older brother) and I also brought along Gloria, my girlfriend. We had a great time and it was great to remenisce old stories and catch up on new ones.

We also had a wonderful, fish based lunch.

What a fantastic weekend!! Now i have 3 weeks to get all my stuff sorted, friends to see for the last time, packing my stuff, and finding a new house!!!

Oh I almost forgot. I will also have my last ever concert with OSFA on the 25th of July. We will play our old songs/covers. It will be a sad moment for me. Will keep you updated with all that.

o/

  1. Bludgenous
    July 14, 2009 at 19:44

    Hey man that’s great news, look at you all part of the capitalist machine now haha! Anyway, where will you be living in relation to your home, is it far?

    I’m really pleased for you though. I had an interview for a job today too! I’d write about it in my blog, but I don’t have one. Because I suck.

    • riqz
      July 15, 2009 at 06:45

      Yeah sigh… I guess we all have to live in this capitalist world somehow. I’ll get my revenge on the system one day… be sure of that. Well I have a home in Friuli too, it’s 1h30mins away from there. That’s where you’ll come when you come visit. You would love Friuli.

      And about the blog. I’m always telling you to start one. I’d love to read your rants sometimes… Think about it.

  2. Paz
    July 15, 2009 at 10:37

    Well, start preparing yourself because you are about to take place in the front row of a major capitalist army.🙂

    It was a pleasure meeting Gloria. I liked her, she seems to be that kind of girl that may get you furious, but never bored (and for the long term that’s a good thing).
    For me, girls need to have 2 qualities: be alternatives and lefties.

    Thanks for the link😉

    Paz

    • riqz
      July 15, 2009 at 18:02

      Grande Paz! It was a pleasure to meet Elena for me too! Thanks again for the great party!!

      Also… STOP reminding me i’m entering the capitalist empire!!! It’s bad enough as it is hahah. I’ve also just been told it’s a full time contract (a tempo indeterminato) so i’m finally in a stable job situation which is good news bearing in mind what times we’re living in.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

