Home > Random, Watches > Antique raid!

Antique raid!

September 8, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

This Sunday my girlfriend brought me to the antique market in Aviano. We spent the whole day trying to find something that stood out of the heap.

I found a beautiful LIP pocketwatch from the early 1900’s. The quadrant is pretty basic and quite abused, but the movements are in exceptional order and are a beauty to watch.

I’ve always had a passion for pocketwatches, since I was a small kid. I can now finally express this passion into a hobby and i’ll make sure I try and find other similar bargains. What i’m aimning for at the moment is a nice american pocketwatch. Either a Hamilton or an Illinois. I don’t want to buy them from ebay. I’d love to find a bargain at some antique market or fair.

Lets get back to the LIP I found. I can’t seem to find an exact date for it. The only thing I found out is that it’s marked on the inside backcover with 393. I think this means the diameter is 39mm and that it is given a mark of 3 out of 5 for it’s movement precision which is discrete.

It is of french manufacture, and LIP have been making watches since the 1800’s up to today.

Enough technical talk…

My girlfriend found two beautiful necklaces, and sent me the pic for the one she likes best.

Here are the photos. Oh and btw, these photos made me realise I need a serious camera… the pics, even with the macro setting, are a crock of shite.

0/

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

