Home > Watches > Soviet Wrist Watches

Soviet Wrist Watches

September 16, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I recently bought two vintage russian, or should I rather say Soviet, wrist watches. They were “New Old Stock” meaning they were unsold, so practically new.

One is a Raketa (Paketa) 24 hour watch 19 jewels. It’s not a normal watch. First things first, it was probably made mid-late 80’s when russia was still CCCP. What’s strange about it then? Well it’s a 24 hour watch. Usually watches are 12 hours, meaning that in 1 day, the hour dial will go round twice. In this case, it goes round once. You can see the difference in the photo! It’s hand wound, and it lasts approximately 36 hours. It also has a rotating bezel that shows cities around the world, so you can tell what time it is there too!

The second is the real deal. It’s a Slava Medical watch. This watch was apparently given to all Soviet doctors. As you can see from the pictures, it has a pulse measuring aid. This one is hand wound too and was made around the same time as the Raketa. I immediately thought of my girlfriend (she is in her 4th year studying medicine) and so I’m going to give it to her as a present. It’s actually a very good watch, with 26 jewels, which is actually a few too many, but hey…

Here they are (I recently changed the wrist bands because they were unglueing):

  1. Bludgenous
    September 16, 2009 at 18:51

    In Soviet Russia, watch hand wind you!

    • riqz
      September 16, 2009 at 19:17

      Hahah bludge!!! Why don’t you come on msn anymore? I’ve barely spoken to you at all recently! We can’t wait for D3 to start talking again!

      • Bludgenous
        September 16, 2009 at 21:29

        I’ve lost your work email address, do you still have my yahoo address? I was gonna email you today but couldn’t find your address.

  2. riqz
    September 16, 2009 at 23:09

    Left you a PM on omgbruces mate.

  3. David
    September 2, 2010 at 18:58

    Hi,

    Love the slava medical watch. I have been searching around with no luck to where i can get one! if you could let me know where i could grab one that would be great. thanks

    • riqz
      September 2, 2010 at 19:06

      Hi David.
      It’s not an easy piece to find. I paid over 200 Euros for mine and recently my spiral broke so i need to get it fixed. If you’re willing to spend around that amount i can ask the person I bought it from if he still has any (but i doubt as mine was one of his last). Anyway let me know!

  4. Dimitar Adamski
    October 23, 2010 at 21:24

    Hi,can you tell me where can I buy this Slava medical watch from?I am a doctor too:)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

