Home > Random, Watches > The 80’s are back

The 80’s are back

I haven’t really done much in a “physical” kind of way this weekend but i did quite a few different kind of things.

Ok watch this :http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p_3g_yf1vzI

The video is so 80’s it hurts. The singer’s GREEN suit makes me want to rip my eyes out, and then all of a sudden… CHILDREN EVERYWHERE!! Just fantastic.  Great song though, and definitely in my top 10 80’s songs of all time. They don’t make songs or videos like these anymore.

I also wanted to go and vote for the Democratic Party representative for the next primary elections in Italy, but I realised I still haven’t got my new electoral card because i’ve changed city of residence. A bit angry but what could I have done.

Another thing i did this weekend was find all the films with Bill Murray that I haven’t watched and then ofcourse proceed to host myself a Bill Murray Film marathon (if two films can be considered a marathon).

Those two films were “Caddyshack” , still maintaining that 80’s feel. It was ok, nothing spectacular. One of those 80’s fun films with Chevy Chase. Bill had a relatively minor role but it was quite funny. Loved the way he kept his lips kind of deformed throughout the whole movie, to give his character that weird accent.

The second film was “Rushmore“. A more recent (1998) movie, and also a tad more serious than caddyshack. It gave me a weird vibe to start off with, somwhat like the vibe i felt when I saw “Step Brothers” for the first time. You’ll know what I mean if you’ve seen any of these two movies. In the end it was actually a very entertaining movie and it ends well which is always nice.

I have to say though that my favourite Bill Murray movie was and still is Groundhog Day, followed closely by Lost in Translation. Actually that reminds me of the funniest clip ever in Lost in translation, where Bill is in the hospital waiting room with an old japanese man: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SntLhQLIfVE (could only find it in italian but it’s still understandable and funny, check out the ladies in the background..it’s so improvised.

On other news my back started hurting again, i’m just praying it’s not my hernia acting up again…

I bet there’s still tons of bill murray movies out there and i’m sure i’ll watch some more of them (Next on the list is “Where The Buffalo Roam“, which is supposed to be what they based Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas: bookworms don’t flame me!, and where Johnny Depp based his character from)

Time to go

o/

P.s. Thanks to omgbruces.com/forums for the 80’s inspiration

Oh! and new watch: Vostok Komandierskie Tank, Automatic

34sjyn9

  1. Bludgenous
    October 26, 2009 at 14:11

    I’ve always been 80’s with my cheap Back To The Future style digital watch. Now suddenly I’ve gone from cheapskate to “retro cool”, at least in the watch department.

    • riqz
      October 26, 2009 at 19:17

      I want to see your blog one day… before i die please.

      • Bludgenous
        November 1, 2009 at 21:06

        I have a super-secret Twitter account but it isn’t as me, it’s just a bit of fun. It’s following you so you should be able to work it out.

      • Bludgenous
        November 1, 2009 at 21:07

        …except you blocked it hahaha

  2. October 29, 2009 at 11:05

    ho guardato il video oggi anche se avevo letto il post appena uscito. il video è troppo 80 ma la cosa + bella secondo me è il giro di basso in slap e il piano forte sul bridge della canzone. avantissimo!

    • riqz
      October 29, 2009 at 18:28

      Hai proprio ragione. Passaggio spettacolare!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

