Home > Watches > New watches.

New watches.

I know these topics must be getting pretty boring for some people but recently I don’t really feel like talking about anything else. God knows why but at least i’m keeping it active with new content.

I went to the usual monthly antique market in Aviano and found some very interesting watches.

I have been looking for a Perseo “Ferrovie Dello Stato” (FS, literally translates to State Railways). It’s a watch issued to Italian railway employees. This one should be from the 1970’s.

It has a 17 Jewels Unitas movement with Incabloc. Incabloc is practically an anti-shock system for watch movements. It involves a lyre shaped spring holding the balance wheel jewel in place. This “lyre” spring absorbs any impact from the exterior so reducing probability of the jewel breaking. More info here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Incabloc_shock_protection_system

You can see it’s marked FS on the back.

The other watch is a soviet Made in CCCP ofcourse. It’s a Vostok komandirskie “submarine dial”. The thing with this one is that it’s antimagnetic! I thought it said automatic on it but when i picked it up i felt it did not have a rotor inside so it couldn’t have been automatic. At this point it was either a frankenstein watch or it said antimagnetic. Sources confirmed me that it is indeed antimagnetic and pretty rare. It also used to be Water Resistant up to 200 meters hence “amphibia” written on the back casing. I’m guessing that the state it’s in it wouldn’t even survive english drizzle!Only bought it for 15 euros though ahah. Fantastic!

Here are the pictures!

There’s more watches coming from ebay. Both soviet. One pocket watch and one wristwatch. Will keep you updated.

o/

  1. Adrytatoo
    June 15, 2011 at 20:31

    Hi! I have a Perseo Pocket Watch and I would really like to date it. Do you know where I can get some info? It has the same FS engraved on the back and the 17 Jewels Unitas movement.

    • riqz
      June 15, 2011 at 21:18

      Hey there Adrytatoo. If you could upload some pictures i’d be glad to give you my advice. The one here unfortunately was not an original perseo. It had a nice ETA movement inside (not perseo). Another thing to see is if it has a number engraved on the back. This means it was given to a railway worker and a serial was stamped on it (not engraved). The same goes for the FS. If it is stamped on it is original (most likely) if it is engraved it probably isnt.

      • B. J.
        June 21, 2011 at 21:15

        I just found this posting and I too , have a Perseo pocket watch my Dad brought home from Italy during WWII. It DOES have the number on the back underneath the FS. I can try to upload a picture of it later today and if you can give me some advice on this watch, I would be very grateful.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

