Home > Random > The day Riqz lost £5

The day Riqz lost £5

Hello everyone. This is just a short post today, and is a lesson about never ever challenging a slightly drunken Englishman to a dare in a pub. Some time ago, I was in a pub. I bet you didn’t see that coming did you, quite the twist in the story already. I can’t say it was for the ambience or for the taste of the fine wines, it was mainly because Weatherspoons is a chain of pubs which usually does the cheapest beer on the High Street. I’m classy like that, but let’s get to the £5.

Myself and Riqz would therefore often go to this pub, with or without the company of some other friends. The people we’d go with would usually vary, because I suspect they often had better things to do than be seen with me. I digress. How did Riqz lose £5 I didn’t hear you cry.

Now I don’t know if you get tartare sauce in Italy. However, in the UK it’s eaten a lot with fish. It’s basically vinegar mixed with an indeterminate amount of vegetables which turns into some sort of foul smelling gloopy mess, which if you go and Google it, will look like white sick. It’s lovely, seriously. I can’t help it I don’t work for the British Food Council (if such a place exists) so I can’t describe food in a loving way. However, such was my cunning that I was pretending it was vile.

Riqz was by now becoming well versed in British culture, for example he had significantly lowered his expectations of girls and was even beginning to find some of the female patronage of Weatherspoons attractive. God bless the power of beer eh?

Oh right, yeah the £5. So we were sitting in the pub, and basically Riqz bet I couldn’t eat a whole pot of tartare sauce, but I so did. I won £5. It’s not much of an anecdote, but what’ya gonna do?

The lesson here kids is never assume that the person sitting opposite you doesn’t like vinegar based condiments. Sometimes they do, and the crafty ones will deny it to profit from it.

  1. riqz
    February 13, 2011 at 22:10

    I actually remember this very well. It was the first time i lost £5 to a bet to which i didn’t feel bad about. Bludge really earned those £5. Aweful thing tartare sauce!

  2. berto
    February 13, 2011 at 22:40

    And now tell your friends how you lost £10 at Hide Park, Rkx!!
    Berto

  3. Matthew
    February 15, 2011 at 00:37

    I remember this £5 bet. Good times.

    Riqz I’ve just read through some old posts. I need an update on iPhone games. Maybe a top 5 free ones? Or top 5 apps in general?

    • riqz
      February 15, 2011 at 00:52

      Hey Matt. Yeah i’m up for that. I’ll write one soon enough. Did you check my other top 5 games and apps post? https://riqz.wordpress.com/category/iphone/

      Edit: Just checked and they’re pretty old. I’ll make a new list asap.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

